Seacroft Wheelers Hilly 11 Report

Club course record missed by 7 seconds !

The first Hilly 11 time trial of the year took place this evening, with 19 riders raring to assault the V162/11 Thorner Course. The rain held off but it was blustery conditions making for a challenging ride.

No injuries to report and 17 riders completed two laps to record a time, Paul K’s run of random bad luck continued with yet another puncture but that’s his bad spell over with now, right Paul ? 🙂

Some cracking times by all concerned with Pete Nixon leading the men with a 26mins 38 seconds, missing out on equaling the Seacroft course record in his category (held By Steve B who was marshaling the event) by seven seconds! There is always August Pete 🙂

Maddy Moore was fastest lady with a cool 32mins 48seconds, despite wobbly clip ons before the off.
Donna Saxton’s 31m 07s record from 1987 could be under threat in the second running of this event later in the year.

A big thank you to all the club members who turned up to marshal, it was a very well supported event and a great effort by all the wind swept riders, full results below.

Some comments from the evening :-

“Thank you for organising Elaine! Fab event! Think I preferred marshalling though!!!??” Maddy

“excellent showing of marshals. Much appreciated by the riders.” Pete N

“Thanks Elaine and everyone who marshalled and organised. Great event as always! ?” Chris J

“Elaine, thanks for organising tonight and thanks to all the Marshall’s who stood around on a cold windy evening.”
Paul K

“Great turnout and thanks Marshall’s and All. ?” Richard H

“thanks to the Time Keepers and marshals. A really good event, again.” Russell B

“Thanks to all Marshalls tonight for the hilly 11. These events couldn’t happen without you all & it was lovely to see lots of marshals keeping our riders as safe as possible. Well done to all the riders on a tough night.X”
Elaine event organiser


NameClubLap 1Total
Pete NixonSeacroft Wheelers13:2226:38
Russell BrownYorkshire Road Club13:3226:55
Mike CrossYorkshire Road Club14:0728:31
Nick BoydellValley Striders14:1528:38
Andrew JohnstonAiredale Olympic14:2328:56
Simon WestCycleSense14:1529:13
Chris JohnsonValley Striders15:0130:10
Mike DillowCycleSense15:0930:33
Andrew PlumridgeOtley CC15:0630:54
Steve MooringYorkshire Road Club15:2231:23
Tom LoukesSeacroft Wheelers15:5131:57
Keith StoreySeacroft Wheelers15:5532:26
James HowcroftCycleSense16:0932:33
Madeline MooreTorq16:2232:48
Jim McQuaidWetherby Wheelers15:2233:12
Fred LynSeacroft Wheelers17:1034:16
Adrian WareWetherby Wheelers17:3435:17
Paul KirkSeacroft WheelersDNF
Richard HighSSLLDNF
Please Share if you like this: